Is the charge of Assault with Bodily Injury a Felony in Texas?
Regardless of whether you end up in an altercation during a night out or a personal confrontation turns violent, you could face accusations of assault after a physical fight. In Texas, assault can fall under various legal definitions, including assault with bodily injury.
Depending on the type of assault, you will face different penalties, anywhere from a Misdemeanor that can result in probation and fines to more serious Felony charges that can have a much more devastating impact on your professional and personal life.
The definition of assault varies from one state to another but Texas has a specific statute that outlines what acts will constitute as assault. It is written very clearly in the Texas Penal code, that an individual commits assault when one of the elements listed below is present during the alleged crime:
- The perpetrator intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly causes bodily injury to the alleged victim.
- The perpetrator knowingly or intentionally threatens the alleged victim with impending bodily injury.
- The perpetrator commits an act of physical contact, either knowingly or intentionally, that the perpetrator knows or should know would be offensive or provocative to the alleged victim.
Following this definition, the charge of assault can stem from many different acts in Texas. Even brandishing a weapon at someone during an altercation could potentially be viewed as a threat just as pushing or pulling hair after an escalation of words.
What Is the Charge of Assault Causing Bodily Injury in Denton?
The Texas Penal Code also provides a legal definition of assault with bodily injury. In basic terms, this crime occurs when a person commits an act of assault that causes pain to the alleged victim. It is very important to note that the assault does not have to leave a mark on the victim’s body for bodily injury to occur. The person must also commit the assault in an intentional, knowing, or reckless manner.
When it comes to the charge of assault with bodily injury, Texas defines it as a Class A misdemeanor. Under these circumstances, an act of assault results in bodily injury and no aggravating factors occur, such as the use of a weapon or no injuries.
Potential Consequences for Assault with Bodily Injury
According to Texas State Law, assault with bodily injury (Which is a Class A Misdemeanor) is punishable with a maximum of 1 year in jail and a fine of up to $4,000. This does not cover every circumstance and other assault charges can have lesser or greater penalties, depending on the specific circumstances of the case.
Are you facing the charge of assault with bodily injury in Denton County? If so, we are here to help and you are not alone. It is in your best interest to contact a domestic abuse & assault attorney located in Denton. With an experienced, former prosecutor on your side you will have access to the knowledge, resources, and skills needed to successfully defend against your case. Contact our office for a free consultation today.