Arrested For DWI Or DUI In Denton County? Below Are Some Of The Potential Penalties.
North Texas law enforcement agencies put a high priority on the enforcement of DWI & DUI laws. Many people who have a couple of drinks with dinner find out the hard way about how DWI enforcement plays out in our community.
Drivers should know that, under Texas law, having any drug or alcohol in your system that causes you to lose the normal use of your mental or physical faculties or having a 0.08 or higher blood alcohol concentration, while driving a motor vehicle, is considered legally intoxicated and will result in a DWI charge.
Driver’s under the age of 21 with any detectable alcohol on their breath can be charged with a DUI.
What Penalties Could You Face If Convicted Of A DWI in Denton County?
- First Time Offenders – Possible six months in jail, with a $2,000 fine and one-year driver’s license suspension. Probation, often longer than one year, are also common punishments.
- Second-Time Offenders – Potential of one year in jail, a $4,000 fine and a two-year suspension of your driver’s license. If probation is granted, it can be two years long and jail time as a condition of probation will be mandatory.
- Third-Time Offenders – Possible two to 10 years in prison, the potential for $10,000 fine, two-year suspension of your driver’s license. Probation is rarely granted but, when granted, the probations are ten years long or 5 years of intensive probation in a treatment court.
People who are arrested and charged with a DUI or DWI in Texas will face serious consequences. When you have been charged with a DUI/DWI, you must seek out the assistance of a knowledgeable, reputable DWI attorney like Attorney Daniel K. Peugh, with the Peugh Law Firm to protect you. A DUI attorney understands the local DWI laws and will help mitigate the legal trouble you face.